Thursday, 15 March 2018

DELIGHTFUL KIDS BOOKS | BLOG TOUR | 'Mr Shaha's Recipes for Wonder' by Alom Shaha | 5* BOOK REVIEW

Hey guys, and happy Thursday! Today I am very excited to be back with my children's book feature, which is one of my favourite things to cover on my blog. There are just so many stinkin' good kids books out there at the moment!

Today I am absolutely delighted to be reviewing Mr Shaha's Recipes for Wonder by Alom Shaha, and illustrated by Emily Robertson. As soon as I saw the press release for this book I knew it was something I would love. Anything that gets kids playing and having fun is never a bad thing in my book. Mr Shaha's Recipes for Wonder has potential to get the whole family learning while having fun, and doing something a little different rather than playing the same old board game or watching Netflix.

Intrigued? Check out the blurb here...

Why does the …? What is …? How does …?

Don’t worry if you don’t know the answers, you soon will!

Every child can be a scientist with the help of Mr Shaha and his recipes for wonder!

Turn a rainy day at home or a walk in the park into a chance to experiment. All you need are a few simple items from your kitchen cupboards ― and the power of curiosity!

Learn about sound by making wine glasses sing, investigate chemical reactions with vitamin-powered rockets, and explore Newton’s Third Law by making balloon-driven cars.

Written by a science teacher and dad, Mr Shaha’s Recipes for Wonder gives clear, step-by-step instructions for over 15 experiments. Whether you’re a science star or just starting out, it will help you inspire young people to learn.

Get the whole family joining in around the table, as you transform your kitchen into a laboratory!

There are just so many things to love about this book. I was instantly attracted by the gorgeous illustrations by Emily Robertson - they are beautiful and will easily captivate kids to get stuck into the experiments. The illustrations are also great in actually showing the step by step method of each experiment. The book itself is also written in such an engaging and companionable way, and nothing about it appears difficult or complicated, or 'not for kids.' That being said, the book also succeeds in being the least patronising it could possibly be, and focuses on engaging kids to explore science rather than lecturing them with facts and long complicated words that they won't understand, or won't interest them.

There is such a huge range of experiments that are great for the whole family - from fizz rockets to singing wine glasses (a personal favourite of mine!) to electric motors - there are experiments here that even the youngest children can take part in. Some of the experiments kids will be able to do with their friends - that's the beauty of this book; it encourages kids to be independent and find joy in the world around them, rather than always asking a parent for help. 

All together I think that this is a brilliantly refreshing book that I wish I had when I was a kid and completely confused about all things science! Shaha presents all the information in a really fun and palatable way, and the vast array of experiments will definitely keep your kids occupied in the ever-looming Easter and summer holidays!

Make sure you guys check out the other stops on the blog tour <3

Check out Alom Shaha here:

Until next time :)

Tuesday, 13 March 2018

BLOG TOUR | 'Bear Child' by Geoff Mead and Sanne Dufft | THE BEAR ESSENTIALS

Hey guys, and happy Tuesday! Today I am thrilled to be taking part in a blog tour to celebrate the beautiful new publication from Floris Books, Bear Child. Bear Child is a gorgeously illustrated and beautifully lyrical new picture book for children, and I know that you and your children will love it as much as I do. The story is so beautiful, and is a perfect fairy-tale-like book that is the perfect bedtime story.

Intrigued? Check out the blurb here...

'Now that people live in towns and bears live in the woods, have you ever wondered what happened to the bear folk?' 

At bedtime Ursula asks Daddy to tell her the tale of the bear folk: special beings who can choose to be either a bear or a person, depending if they want to catch a fish or read a book. 

Bear folk live extraordinary lives, he tells her. They are strong and clever, kind and loving, adventurous and creative -- just like her. 

Will I ever meet one? Ursula asks. Perhaps she already has... 

Bear Child is an inspirational story of parental love, belief and embracing individuality. This beautiful picture book weaves together Geoff Mead's charming words with Sanne Dufft's ethereal illustrations to create a truly timeless folktale.

And without further ado, here is Geoff Mead on the blog to talk all things bears and their prominent (and important) position in books...

Fictional bears are hugely popular, especially in children’s literature. Like the creators of Paddington, Rupert, Winnie the Pooh, Baloo, and Iorek Byrnison, I drew my inspiration from a profound human connection with bears that seems almost to be part of our DNA.

Our earliest ancestors lived close to nature, competing for habitation and food with their omnivorous ursine neighbours. In 1917 a prehistoric man-made limestone ‘box’ was found deep underground in Switzerland, containing three cave bear skulls carefully stacked and aligned, suggesting some kind of ritual or rite. There are no surviving stories from those times but bears sometimes feature in cave paintings. They have always shared our world and lived in our imaginations. 

I originally wrote Bear Child as a gift for my late wife Chris, who had a lifelong fascination with bears. It’s the story of Ursula, a young girl who thinks she might be a descendant of the bear folk: shape-shifters born from the ancient marriage of bears and humans. 

Myths and legends about bears abound in every culture that has co-existed with them: from the Inuit in the North to the Ainu in Japan; from West Coast Native Americans to the peoples who once lived in the great pan-European forest. In the animistic world view of hunter-gatherers in which all living things are imbued with spirit, bears are respected as powerful, intelligent, curious creatures with almost human qualities. 

Bears retreat to hibernate as winter comes and reappear in the spring and were thus thought by many to control the changing seasons. As omnivores, they showed humans what was good to eat and where to find it, as well as what plants had medicinal qualities. If hunted, their remains were treated reverently. Shamans wore their masks and pelts; claws and teeth were made into sacred amulets; bones were laid out with care and buried with great ceremony. 

Chris and I once travelled to Minnesota to spend time with wild black bears in the woods, under the expert guidance of Dr Lyn Rogers. We saw for ourselves that these fellow-mammals are nurturing and protective of their young. On all fours, they behave much like enormous dogs but when walking on their hind legs they are surprisingly human-like, so it was easy to understand why they are sometimes called King of the Mountain or Master of the Forest, or – my particular favourite – Old Man in a Fur Coat. 

Bear Child draws on a Siberian Ostyak myth about how bears first came to earth, let down on threads made of sunrays and moonbeams by Numitorum, the Great Bear of the northern sky, and on a Native American Haida story about how bears and humans became intermingled.   

Our mythic association with bears still shows up in the English language despite the fact that native British bears became extinct 1,000 years ago: we bear heavy burdens, we bear down (and up), we bear in mind, we even bear children! Maybe the story of Bear Child gives a hint to why we’re still so fascinated by our ursine friends. 

Thank you so much, Geoff, for appearing on my blog!

Make sure you guys check out the other spots on the blog tour <3

Follow the rest of the #BearChild blog tour with Floris Books on Twitter and Instagram.

Check out Geoff Mead here:

Check out Sanne Dufft here:

Until next time :)

Monday, 19 February 2018

AUTHOR INTERVIEW | 5 Minutes With... Louise Walters

Hey guys, and happy Monday! Today I am delighted to be sharing with you guys another author interview, this time with author Louise Walters, who is the author of three books. Her themes tend to be family, relationships, friendships, memories, regret and redemption. Not only is Louise an avid reader and writer, but she even has her own publishing imprint, where she aims to publish the very best in literary and commercial fiction. 

Louise's latest novel, The Road to California, is an achingly emotional book about a mother and son's relationship, and the various problems and difficulties that come in between. Check out the blurb here...

Proud single parent Joanna is accustomed to school phoning to tell her that her fourteen year old son Ryan is in trouble. But when Ryan hits a girl and is excluded from school, Joanna knows she must take drastic action to help him. Ryan's dad Lex left home when Ryan was two years old. Ryan doesn t remember him - but more than anything he wants a dad in his life. Isolated, a loner, and angry, Ryan finds solace in books and wildlife. Joanna, against all her instincts, invites Lex to return and help their son. But Lex is a drifter who runs from commitment, and both Joanna and Ryan find their mutual trust and love is put to the test when Lex returns, and vows to be part of the family again.

And today I am lucky enough to have Louise on my blog, where we will be chatting about The Road to California, the long writing process that accompanied it, and what book she was facinated by as a child...

What is the inspiration behind The Road to California?

It’s the first novel I attempted to write, over ten years ago, and much of it was based on my life at that time.

Tell us a bit more about Joanna. Do you have anything in common with her?

She is a much more attractive and assertive version of me! I love sewing and I home educate some of my children, so we do have a few things in common.

What made you want to write about parenthood and the various problems that family life can throw up?

It was my first novel and “write what you know” is the standard advice. I’ve now written three novels, and parenthood, family life and relationships of all kinds do seem to be my natural subject matter.

Do you normally come up with plot or characters first?

The characters tend to come first and I think about them for quite a long time, trying to get to know them, and from there I work out the kinds of things they might get up to.

What was the writing process like for The Road to California?

Long! I abandoned it for a few years in favour of my second novel (Mrs Sinclair’s Suitcase) and again for my third novel (A Life Between Us). I also tried to change the story dramatically but I couldn’t do it. My original story and characters seemed to insist on staying put and being written.

What was your favourite book as a child?

I read lots of books growing up, so I have several favourites. I do re-read a book called Come Back, Lucy by Pamela Sykes as it fascinated me as a child, and it still does.

What advice would you give to aspiring writers?

Read more than you write. It serves me well, and I still regard myself as a reader first, writer second.

Sum up The Road to California in three words…

Sad, simple, and hopeful.

Thank you so much for appearing on my blog, Louise!

Buy The Road to California here:

Check out Louise Walters here:

Until next time :) 

Monday, 5 February 2018

BOOK REVIEW | 'The Last Days of Archie Maxwell' by Annabel Pitcher (****)

Hey guys, and happy Monday! Today I am delighted to be posting another book review, for a novella I read before Christmas - from the wonderful Annabel Pitcher, who you might know wrote Ketchup Clouds and Silence is Goldfish. The Last Days of Archie Maxwell is another brilliant Barrington Stoke publication - and again I have to applaud the gorgeous, clear font, the quality of the pages and the cover art. If you haven't already picked up a Barrington Stoke book yet, I'd highly recommend doing so <3

The Last Days of Archie Maxwell is a brilliantly written, heart-wrenching novel all about modern family life, being a teenager and all the confusion and complications this brings up. When Archie's Dad leaves, he doesn't think life can get any harder. But when a massive secret is discovered that threatens to break up Archie's family for good, Archie doesn't know what the future holds anymore. Will Archie be able to find his own truth, and will he be able to live with it?

Intrigued? Check out the blurb here...

Full of love, humour and heartbreak, this beautifully crafted YA novella from the multi-award-winning author of Ketchup Clouds and My Sister Lives on the Mantelpiece is a compassionate and distinctive tale of modern family life and its issues.

When Archie’s dad leaves, it throws his life into turmoil. He discovers there’s been a secret at the heart of his cosy family life – and he can’t accept the truth of that secret, however hard he tries. So, Archie heeds the siren call of the trains that run past the end of his garden. But when he finds himself at the track, he realises that the trains have been calling to someone else too. Someone Archie knows very well indeed. This is the story of what happens when they meet.

Right from the first page I fell hopelessly in love with this story. The writing was so effortlessly beautiful but also searingly honest. Archie is a brilliant character and everything about him was so realistic as to what goes through the mind of a teenager at a really crucial point in their life. 

The story itself was perfectly plotted and really suited the length of a novella. I felt totally satisfied with how the story was structured and this was the perfect book to snuggle up with in bed and devour in one evening. There were plenty of twists that kept me on edge and the story was emotional yet realistic in equal measures.

Another brilliant part of The Last Days of Archie Maxwell is the way that Pitcher deals with numerous important issues in such a sensitive but also honest way. Family relationships, sexuality, bullying and suicide are all carefully and intricately explored in the novella, and Pitcher really reveals the honest truth of these issues, and the various ways in which people can respond to them. For me, the message at the heart of the novel is the unquestionable importance of kindness, and acceptance is embroiled in this idea of kindness in the story. 

The Last Days of Archie Maxwell is a hugely important story for teenagers and adults alike, and can definitely be dubbed as essential reading. If you haven't discovered Annabel Pitcher's writing already, I would highly recommend that you do so - her voice is an exquisite and significant star in the incredible galaxy which is the YA universe!

Check out Annabel Pitcher here:

Until next time :)

Monday, 29 January 2018

BOOK REVIEW | 'Second Best Friend' by Non Pratt (****)

Hey guys, and happy Monday! Today I am really excited to be sharing a book with you that I read just before Christmas, but due to exams and essay deadlines, I haven't had the chance to review yet!

Of course, this brilliant book is Non Pratt's new novella Second Best Friend, a story about friendship and rivalry and school politics. It is a story that is wonderfully written, with a lot of heart but also an abundance of honesty.

Intrigued? Check out the blurb here...

Jade and Becky are best friends, but when Jade’s ex-boyfriend lets on that everyone thinks Becky is the better of the two, Jade finds herself noticing just how often she comes second to her best friend. There’s nothing Jade is better at than Becky. 

So when Jade is voted in as Party Leader ahead of her school’s General Election only to find herself standing against Becky, Jade sees it as a chance to prove herself. If there’s one thing she can win, it’s this election – even if it means losing her best friend.

I was so excited to get my hands on this book; not only is Non Pratt an all-time favourite author of mine - her writing is so wonderful and gritty and honest - but also I have been loving Barrington Stoke books at the minute. I love that they are relatively short - perfect for a quick bedtime read, or for more less confident readers, and also the pages are of superb quality. 

As for Second Best Friend, this was a brilliant read and everything I expected from Non. I loved the premise of a story about the complexity of teenage female friendships, in the context of a school election. There simply are not enough books about female friendships in YA (especially if we compare this to the number of books there about romance and love triangles!) and this was a refreshing book that did not diminish how complicated, wonderful and heartbreaking female friendships can be. 

I also loved that the main bulk of the story was focused on the school election, which was something totally different to anything else I have read in YA. However, what I enjoyed the most about this book was the voice - it was so fresh and imaginative and realistic. I could relate to so much in the story and I feel like this is the perfect handbook of friendships for teenagers! My favourite thing about Non Pratt's writing is that the characters are such realistic representations of teenagers, and she manages to present the happenings and complications of teenage life without being condescending in any way.

If you're looking for a quick read that makes you savour every word, then Second Best Friend is definitely the story for you. This book has just made me even more excited for what else is up Non's writing sleeve!

Check out Barrington Stoke's other brilliant titles here:

Until next time :) 

Monday, 22 January 2018


Hey guys, and happy Monday! Today I am very excited to be back with another DITL of an author post! These are one of my favourite features to do and I absolutely love reading them, so I hope you do too.

The author I am featuring today is Chris Chalmers,  author of the novels Five To One, Light From Other Windows and for children, Gillian Vermillion — Dream Detective. His third adult novel, Dinner At The Happy Skeleton is published by J.Mendel Books on November 2nd. 

So without any further ado, here is Chris Chalmers to tell us all about his day! 

I have two sorts of writing days. The ones where I write my novel, and the ones writing the other stuff.

My ‘day job’ is advertising copywriter. It has been since the late Eighties, though it’s changed a bit since I went freelance in 2002. I mostly work in London agencies, helping out where there’s an overspill of creative briefs or someone is on holiday, maternity leave etc. All those predictions I read in my Dr Who Annual when I was ten— how by 2020 we’d all be working remotely with a robot dog to bring us coffee — aren’t looking good. Ad agencies still like bums on seats, so when I’m freelancing you’ll usually find me somewhere glassy and open-plan in Farringdon or London Bridge. I’m the one waiting for I.T. to hook me up, trying not to look twenty years older than all the bearded, tattooed striplings around me.  

You can’t blame a chef for settling for beans on toast after a long day at work. Similarly, I can’t bring myself to dive into my novel after a shift writing about mortgages. I have deep admiration for those novelist mums, up at half-past five, putting in two hours before they whip up the family breakfast and rush off to work. Hence my other sort of writing day.

When I’m not copywriting I write contemporary fiction about people-like-us — with a side order of helicopter crashes, tsunamis and murderous cryptozoologists. I’m awake about seven a.m. My other half, a fervent yogi, is long gone by then, off to his early morning practice in Soho. My own kick-start isn’t quite so reliable, but I’m usually at the MacBook by eight. After four adult novels and another for children, I’ve weaned myself off starting the day by reading what I wrote yesterday. It’s too easy and it eats away the productive hours. And hell, I’ll be redrafting this thing again and again and again — so why worry what colour I chose for next door’s cat?       

Five days out of six, at 10.45 everything stops for gym. This is preceded by a coffee for the necessary caffeine boost; out, if I’m feeling flush, at home if I’m not. Keeping to a routine comes easily to me, a big advantage for a writer. I’ve kept a diary since I was 13 and never missed a day, bar the odd double-duty after a messy night out. I find the gym as easy to stick to. I don’t claim superhuman willpower — it’s just the way I am. I also think I’d go crazy if I spent all day at my desk, so I relish the excuse to get out.

That’s followed by lunch, cooked by my adept husband who makes vegan eating a delight even when you’re not one yourself. He is a concert pianist and composer, so much of the time we’re both at home, which I love. My study is upstairs overlooking the garden. He works downstairs, at one sort of keyboard or another. Our house is small, so when he's practicing I can hear every note — if I want to. Mostly I don’t even notice, for which I thank years of crashing out ad concepts in offices with Spotify blaring in the corner.   
I’m back at my laptop by two, and work through till six or seven. When I’m writing a first draft, I try to hit a thousand words a day and feel bad if I don’t. (Where would we be without that little word counter?) I’d like to say I’m the driven sort, who takes his writing down to dinner, the settee and eventually up to bed. But I have no problem switching off. I rarely give my novel a thought till I’m back at the coalface next morning. A bit of distance does me good — and by then I’m ready to pick up the threads all over again.   

Thank you so much, Chris, for appearing on my blog! 

Check Chris Chalmers out here:

Facebook @chrischalmersnovelist

Twitter: CCsw19

Until next time :) 

Thursday, 18 January 2018


Hey guys, and happy Thursday! Today I am very excited to be back with my children's book feature, to celebrate the publication of I Swapped My Brother on the Internet by Jo Simmons! This is a hilariously fun read that I think you all will enjoy, great for kids to read by themselves and to be read to as well!

Intrigued? Check out the blurb here...

I can get a new brother? On the internet?' Jonny muttered. 'Oh sweet mangoes of heaven!'

Everyone has dreamed of being able to get rid of their brother or sister at one time or another - but for Jonny, the dream is about to become a reality with! What could be better than someone awesome to replace Ted, Jonny's obnoxious older brother.

But finding the perfect brother isn't easy, as Jonny discovers when Sibling Swap sends him a line of increasingly bizarre replacements: first a merboy, then a brother raised by meerkats, and then the ghost of Henry the Eighth! What's coming next?! Suddenly old Ted isn't looking so bad. But can Jonny ever get him back?

A hilarious tale of wish fulfilment gone wrong that every child will relate to - perfect for fans of Pamela Butchart, My Brother is a Superhero and David Baddiel's The Parent Agency.

And here is an extract from chapter one and two which should hopefully get your tastebuds tingling!

The advert popped up in the corner of the screen. Jonny clicked on it instantly. The Sibling Swap website pinged open, showing smiling brothers and happy sisters, all playing and laughing and having a great time together.

What crazy alternative universe was this? Where were the big brothers teasing their little brothers about being rubbish at climbing and slow at everything? Where were the wedgies and ear flicks? What about the name-calling? This looked like a world Jonny had never experienced, a world in which brothers and sisters actually liked each other!
‘Oh sweet mangoes of heaven!’ Jonny muttered.

It was pretty bonkers, but it was definitely tempting. No, scrap that: it was essential. Jonny couldn’t believe his luck. Just think what Sibling Swap could offer him. A new brother. A better brother. A brother who didn’t put salt in his orange squash, who didn’t call him a human sloth, who didn’t burp in his ear. That kind of brother.

Jonny had to try it. He could always return the new brother if things didn’t work out. It was a no-brainer.

He clicked on the application form. What could go wrong?

Only a little while before Jonny saw the Sibling Swap advert, he and his older brother, Ted, had had a fight. Another fight.

It was a particularly stupid fight, and it had started like all stupid fights do – over something stupid. This time, pants. But not just any pants. The Hanging Pants of Doom.
Jonny and Ted were walking their dog, Widget, on the nearby Common. They arrived at a patch of woodland, where an exception- ally large and colourful pair of men’s pants had been hanging in a tree for ages. These pants had become legendary over the years the brothers had been playing here. There was a horrible glamour about them. The boys were grossed out and slightly scared of them, but could never quite ignore them. And so the pants had become the Hanging Pants of Doom, and now, unfortunately, Jonny had just lobbed Widget’s Frisbee into the tree. It was stuck in a branch, just below the mythical underwear.

‘Oh swear word,’ said Jonny.

‘Nice one!’ said Ted. ‘You threw it up there, so you have to get it down.’

Jonny frowned. Two problems presented themselves. One was the fact that the Frisbee was very close to the pants, making the possibility of touching the revolting garment very real. Second, Jonny wasn’t very good at climbing.

‘Go on, Jonny, up you go,’ teased Ted. ‘Widget can’t wait all day for his Frisbee. Climb up and get it ... What’s that? You’re rubbish at climbing? Sorry, what? You would prefer it if I went and got the Frisbee, as I’m truly excellent at climbing?’

‘All RIGHT!’ fumed Jonny, ripping off his jacket. ‘I’ll climb up and get it. Look after my coat.’

‘Thanks!’ said Ted. ‘I might use it as a blanket. You’re so slow, we could be here until midnight.’

Jonny began his climb slowly, as Ted had predicted, and rather shakily, as Ted had also predicted.

‘I’m just taking my time, going carefully. Don’t rush me!’ said Jonny, as he reached for the next branch.

‘Spare us the running commentary,’ Ted said.

After several minutes, a tiny dog appeared below the tree, followed by its elderly owner, and it began yapping up at Jonny.

‘That’s my brother up there,’ Ted said to the lady, pointing up. ‘He’s thrown his pants into the tree again and has to go and get them.’

The lady squinted up. Her dog continued yip-yapping.

‘Oh yes, I see,’ she said. ‘Well, they’re rather splendid pants, aren’t they? I can see why he wants to get them back. Are those spaceships on them?’

‘Cars,’ said Ted.

‘Very fetching,’ said the lady. ‘But he shouldn’t throw them into the trees again. A magpie might get them.’

‘That’s what I told him,’ said Ted, trying not to laugh. ‘Sorry, I better go and help or we’ll be here until Christmas. He’s like a human sloth!’

With that, Ted bounced up into the tree, pulling himself quickly up its branches and passing his brother, just as Jonny was within touching distance of the Frisbee.

‘Got it!’ said Ted, snatching the Frisbee and tossing it down to Widget, before swing- ing off a branch and landing neatly on his feet. ‘You can come down now, bro. Unless you really do want to touch the Pants of Doom. You’re pretty close, actually. Look! They’re just there.’

Jonny made a noise in his throat – a bit like a growl – and felt his face burning bright red. He was shaking with anger and humiliation as he slowly began making his way down.
By the time the brothers banged back into the house, Jonny was speechless with fury. He ran upstairs. He could hear his mum telling him off for slamming the front door, but too bad. He smashed his bedroom door shut too. There! How’s that? He was sick of Ted teasing him, sick of being the younger brother. And as for telling that old lady that the Hanging Pants of Doom were his ...

Jonny flipped open his laptop and, miracu- lously, there was the Sibling Swap website telling him that all this could change. What perfect timing. Had the Sibling Swap team climbed into his head and read his thoughts? Who cared?
He read the home page:
ometimes you don’t get the brother or sister you deserve, but here at Sibling Swap, we aim to put that right. With so many brothers and sisters out there, we can match you to the perfect one!

His heart began to beat faster.

Swapping your brother or sister has never been easier with Sibling Swap! Simply fill out the application form and we will supply you with a new brother or sister within twenty- four hours, carefully chosen from our massive database of possible matches. Our dedicated team of Swap operatives works 24/7 to find the best match for you, but if you are not completely happy, you can return your replacement sibling for a new match or your original brother or sister.

Amazing! For the first time in his almost ten years, this website was offering Jonny power, choice, freedom! It felt good! He rubbed his hands together and began filling out the form.

First, there were two options:

Are you swapping a sibling?

Are you putting yourself up to be swapped?

‘Easy,’ Jonny muttered. ‘I’m the one doing the swapping. Me. I have the power!’ He did a sort of evil genius laugh as he clicked on the top box. By Tic Tacs, this was exciting! Next, the form asked:

Are you swapping a brother or sister?

‘Also easy,’ muttered Jonny. ‘Brother.’ Then:

Would you like to receive a brother or a sister?
Jonny clicked the box marked ‘Brother’. Then he had to add some information about himself.

Age: nine.

Hobbies: biking, swimming, computer games, doughnuts, messing about. Least favourite things:

• my brother, Ted (he teases me all the time and reckons he’s cool just because he goes to secondary school)
• being nine (I am nearly ten, but can I have a brother who is younger than me or maybe the same age please?)
• sprouts
• climbing
• being sick

Then there was a whole page about the kind of brother Jonny might like. He quickly ticked the following boxes: fun; adventurous; enjoys food; enjoys sports and swimming; likes dogs. He didn’t tick the box marked ‘living’ or the one marked ‘human’. He just wanted a brother, so it was obvious, wasn’t it?

That ought to do it, Jonny reckoned. His heart was galloping now. In just three minutes it was ready to send. He sat back in his chair. ‘Just one click,’ he said, ‘and I get a brother upgrade by this time tomorrow. Friday, in fact! Ready for the weekend!’

Jonny felt slightly dizzy. He giggled quietly to himself. He felt giddy with power! All he had to do was send off the form. Easy! But then he hesitated ... Should he do this? Was it OK? Would he get into trouble? Jonny’s dad no longer lived with him and Ted, so he might not notice, but what would his mum say? She’d be pleased, Jonny decided quickly. Yes! After all, she was fed up with Jonny and Ted arguing. This was the perfect solution. Then, with a tiny frown, he wondered how Ted might feel about being swapped, but before he could puzzle this out, there was his brother again, shouting up the stairs.

‘Dinner, loser!’ Ted yelled. ‘Let me know if you need help climbing down the stairs.

They are quite steep. It could take you a while.’

That was it! For the second time that day, Jonny felt the anger bubbling up inside like a can of shaken Pixie Fizz. Enough! Double enough!

‘So I’m the rubbish younger brother, am I? Well, here’s one thing I can do really bril-liantly,’ he muttered and, jutting out his chin, hit the send button.


‘Done!’ he said, and slammed the laptop shut.

Keep an eye out for a review on my kid's book feature soon!

Make sure you guys check out the other spots on the blog tour <3

Buy I Swapped My Brother On The Internet here:

Check out Jo Simmons here:

Until next time :)